The Challenge of Unscrambled Thinking


[This was originally posted 4 November 2013 by me on DenverMensGroup.com.]

Publishing a blog is no guarantee it will be read and a probable fruitless endeavor.  While providing a venue for the exploration and expression of thought, blogging is often an intimidating undertaking.  This simple posting took several sittings and days to create and I continue to edit it.

Don Quixote headMultiple sclerosis can cause cognitive complications with no limits that embarrassingly and unceremoniously stop a person in mid-thought.  Like standing in a field of butterflies, much of the time I have a horde of thoughts haphazardly floating around in my head.  As quickly as one is captured, it escapes.

When I begin processing a thought, another thought barges in, rudely shoving the prior thought out the door and beyond reach.  It is excruciating and I have come to appreciate the unfulfilled determination of the frustrated Don Quixote.

Altruism aside, I blog as a result of a pesky belief that if I just write things down, it will put me on a therapeutic path to retain as much cognitive capability as possible: An organized and methodical documentation of soul searching akin to the ubiquitous “sorting things out.”  An unscrambling.

One conventional therapy to battle the loss of mental capability is the use of Lumosity.  “Lumosity is based on the science of neuroplasticity, the idea that the brain can change and reorganize itself given the right kinds of challenges,” said Erica Perng, Lumosity’s head of communications for an article in “The Guardian” by Elizabeth Day, dated 20 April 2013 and titled “Online Brain-training: Does it Really work?

I use Lumosity . . . when I remember . . . but have found Wii Tennis, Bowling, and Golf to be more effective at trapping my interest.  Lumosity exercises are too frustrating and irritating to be helpful.  I get upset with it.  However I must admit, as much as I despise Lumosity’s mathematics exercise, I do like and am motivated by its word creation exercise .  (I was slow at math long before I was diagnosed with MS.)

Sudoku is not at all intriguing or enticing to me.  Yet, it is another “therapy” for exercising the mind to rebuild connections and there are those who use and enjoy Sudoku’s challenge.

For years I have “intended” to begin Tai Chi but have yet to summon enough discipline to get beyond the introductory section on the Tai Chi DVD.  With its slow movements, it seems to be a more MS-friendly exercise than Yoga since it can even be done sitting in a chair.  Yoga’s physical contortions can be painful for a generally healthy individual of moderate physical ability.  It is virtually impossible for a person with limited flexibility/mobility.  Egad!  Maintaining a position with spasticity?!  So . . .

  • How do YOU handle this too often dismissed malady of the multiple sclerosis mind?  (Say that fast three times!)
  • How do you manage the brain’s wrath and rebellion when it comes to your MS cognitive issues?
  • Would you say you have a form of Pseudo Bulbar Affect?
Leave a comment!

